Adjust font Size :- font increase font decrease
Change Language :- Hindi English

Director Education


Dr. M.L. Jakhar is serving as an agricultural scientist and researcher in SKNAU, Jobner. He was born on 15th June, 1969 in Jobner. Dr. Jakhar obtained his B.Sc. (Ag) in 1990, M.Sc. in 1992 and Ph.D. in 2000 in Plant Breeding and Genetics from RAU, Bikaner. He was awarded with gold medal in M.Sc.

Dr. Jakhar started his service as Assistant Professor from 8th May, 1996 at SKRAU, Bikaner and worked at Mechanized Agriculture Farm, Khara, for 2 years where, he was actively engaged in seed production programme of various Kharif and Rabi crops. Dr. Jakhar was transferred to SKN College of Agriculture, Jobner on 20th July. 1998 and provided his services at this campus till date 22.08.2019. Afterwards Dr. Jakhar was assigned the responsibility of Director Education of SKN Agriculture University, Jobner.

Dr. M. L. Jakhar

Director Education

SKNAU, Jobner

He has been associated in teaching for last 23 years and taught almost all the courses at of Plant Breeding & Genetics at UG, PG and Ph.D. levels. He has specialization in Plant Biotechnology. He guided 30 M.Sc. and 5 Ph.D. students as Major Advisor and acted as a member in the Advisory Committee of four dozen students of M.Sc. and Ph.D. of other department including PBG.

During his service tenures, Dr. Jakhar worked as Principal Investigator and Co-Principal Investigator of ten research projects related to variability in cumin through in vitro techniques, medicinal and aromatic plants, Aloe vera, modernization and mechanization of ARSS farm, Diggi, infrastructure facilities for breeder seed production, establishment of herbal park. Establishment of tissue culture set up and laboratory under RKVY was a great task of his service career with a budget provision of Rs. 1.38 Crores. Now this laboratory is an integral part of Department of Plant Breeding and Genetics. Under this project he developed regeneration protocol and micropropagation techniques of arid zone crops. He standardized and developed regeneration protocol of cumin, coriander, fenugreek, fennel, bael, guggal, pomegranate etc.

He was also the Officer Incharge of All India Coordinated Research Project on Oil Seeds (Taramira Unit). This project is being operated in SKN College of Agriculture, Jobner since 1987. Under this project Dr. Jakhar developed several varieties of Taramira viz. RTM -314, RTM-2002, RTM-1355 and RTM-1351. About 650 germplasm of Taramira is being maintained in the project.

He has published 83 research papers in international and national journals, wrote 5 books, several articles, and book chapters. He has participated in 38 national seminar/workshop/conference/symposium and 3 international conferences. He also organized one workshop, one seminar and two trainings of national level and attended five summer/ winter schools.

Dr. Jakhar is serving as secretary Sports Board, SKNAU, Jobner since 2013 and organized 7 inter collegiate tournaments. During his student life he participated four times in Inter University Kabaddi tournaments.

From administrative point of view, Dr. Jakhar served as University Head and Campus Head of the Departmentof Plant Breeding &Genetics. He also served as convener and member of various committees viz. tender enquiry, student election, spot purchase etc.

Dr. Jakhar got best teacher award (2002-2003). Best performer Award (2016) by ICAR for development of taramira varieties, Appreciation certificate by the Hon’ble Vice Chancellor for outstanding contribution in the development of college and university on the occasion of Republic Day in 2016, 2018 and 2019. He is also acting as Joint Secretary in the executive board Rapeseed-Mustard Research, Sewar Bharatpur. He is also awarded with SRMR Fellow Award, 2017. He also got best oral presentation award in International Conference on Food Security through Agriculture and Allied Science (FAAS-2019) held at Tribhuvan University, Kathmandu (Nepal). He is the life member of farming system Research and Development Association, Society of Rapeseed-Mustard Research and the Indian Society of Genetics and Plant Breeding and also acting as scientific referee for several prestigious journals.

About Directorate of Education

The Directorate of Education in a bid to refine, modernize and strengthen the students teaching and learning system for enhancing their knowledge, upgrading skills and instilling confidence in them for all round development and empowerment to face and accept the growing challenges in various facets of life so as to enable them to become competent and successful citizens in their area of stay, initially envisages three pronged activities as following:-

A. Up gradation and Improvement:

  • Strengthening the existing classroom facilities with the modern AV aids. Also establishing one virtual classroom at each constituent college.
  • Monitoring of PG research.
  • Strengthening the existing and starting new M.Sc. programmes like Seed Science & Technology, Agrometerology, Agroforestry etc. and Ph. D programmes in Plant Physiology and Ag. Economics by increasing students’ intake capacity at SKNCOA, Jobner and RARI, Durgapura.
  • Establishment of linkage with National and International Institutes for exposure of faculty members and students to acquaint with latest technology and developments in Agriculture.
  • Initiation of MoU for students research work at premier Agricultural Institutes of the country.
  • Inclusion of non credit courses in the curriculum for over all development of students.
  • Motivation for NAAS rated publication from PG dessertations.

B. Resource generation:- 

  • Through introducing internship programme for graduates and post graduates from other institutes.
  • Commercialization of innovations and technologies through organized property rights and knowledge sharing systems.

C. Establishment of new colleges and creation of the State-of-the-Art scientific facilities in laboratories and infrastructure.

Initiation of new under graduate courses like Home Sciences, Dairy Technology, Horticulture and Agro-forestry and Agricultural Engineering and many more may be added to the existing list of constituent colleges of the university in the due course of time to ensure integrated programmes.

Last Updated : 08 Jul 2020